1. Home
  2. More HAS
  3. News
  4. These are the nominees for the Frans van Leijden Award 2021

These are the nominees for the Frans van Leijden Award 2021!

Ben Flikweert & Miles Bühlmann, Hester Schilt and Youri Timmermans are nominated for the Frans van Leijden Award 2021, announced the jury today! You can vote for your favourite from 10 May. On Thursday, 10 June 2021, eighteen months after the death of our beloved and highly esteemed colleague Frans van Leijden, the very first Frans van Leijden Award will be presented during the GROW event in tribute to him.


The jury nominated 3 candidates from 63 submissions:

  • Ben Flikweert & Miles Bühlmann, because of the incredibly impressive and fair goal that they're pursuing and wholly committed to.
  • Hester Schilt, because she is responding creatively to market developments to connect consumer and products.
  • Youri Timmermans, because he has the courage to make a difference in an industry where it's not easy to please everyone.


Professional promotional videos will be made shortly of each nominee. These will be posted on this site from 10 May. From then on, you can also vote for your favourite. Ultimately, the decision rests with the jury, which has its own vision of the criteria but will, of course, take into account the preferences of the public.


During the GROW event on 10 June, students in the Limburg agri-food area will surprise the business community with fantastic, innovative agri-food concepts. It’s an opportunity for new talents to show their best side to potential employers of the future. GROW will be held (as far as possible) at the Brightlands Campus Greenport Venlo and online.

More information about the programme and registration can soon be found at www.growlimburg.nl

Read all the details about the prized and presentation here.